God helps my family stay strong

Weekend Reflection:

Today’s Quote (Mother Teresa)
“What can you do to promote world peace? Go home and love your family.”

Family1Every family, including mine, experiences hardships. It’s only natural to have personalities clash in a home with so many strong-minded individuals.

Though it may seem at times like our family members have very different opinions on things, our bond is undeniably strong.

ShoppingIn the past, my wife and I took spending time with our children for granted; now we savor every moment spent by their side. This is especially true when they reach an age when they no longer need us driving them around. Nothing feels better than my daughter asking, “Hey, want to go to the mall?” She could have asked any of her friends to go with her, but she asked me!

My wife and I raise them to the best of our abilities, and we wholeheartedly believe that Family2we are able to do a good job. This is definitely not self-glorification. Family relationship can be so complicated and sensitive, if we trust in our own ability, we would have seen a broken family long ago. Our secret is to securely put the family into God’s hands. We tried our best to resolve issues based on God’s principles. We prayed hard for God’s to bless our home with peace and unity so that we can be a witness among relatives and friends.

strength & weaknessSure, my wife and I have our differences. But, who doesn’t? We are two separate individuals, with wholly separate opinions. Even the ways that we deal with children are quite different, but thank God that we can complement each others’ strengths and weaknesses. I value my wife for voicing her thoughts, beliefs, and ideas.

Regardless of our differences, my wife and I remain strong throughout the years. We triumph through troubles, as does our entire family. Each battle makes us stronger. Each scar is a memory of the long way we’ve come. And, each tear is a sign of a lesson learned.Family

Today, I accept my family for the strong individuals we are. Raising children and simultaneously maintaining a marriage has its challenges. But, we’ve managed to triumph through all of our troubles with God’s grace.

Questions for reflectionSelf-Reflection Questions:
  1. How can we carve out more family time?
  2. Am I supportive of my family’s growth?
  3. Which defining moments have we experienced as a family?

Leave a Reply

